Archive for August, 2012

The NEW Central Digest

The NEW Central Digest has launched!

Be sure to leave comment for the wonderful staff and Sponsor, Mr Greg Cantrell. They have worked very hard to make this happen!

Class of 1917

Class of 1917


The following list of 101 graduates of the Class of 1917 was compiled from the listings in the 1917 Champion and the 2007 Alumni Directory.  Apparently the Times did not report the individual names nor number of graduates, just that the graduation ceremonies were held at the Pilgrim Congregational Church on May 25, 1917.


Georgia Alexander   

Marie Elizabeth Allen          

Lloyd Smartt Bacon    

Blanche Barnett         

Beulah Mae Becker    

Addie Beene           

Nannie C Bloss   

Josephine Bogart             

Margaret Buford    

Melva Lucile Bull     

Willard Burks         

Robbie Burns         

Hattie Rae Cagle          

Palmer Carr         

Lee Collins    

Margaret Collins   

Lindsay Colville           

G. Marie Cox                

Marie Josephine  Cox        

Ernest Cushman           

Marietta Davis                

Layne DeArmond             

Robert Dennis                

Wilbur Denton              

Bess Dorton  

Stella Doty   

Alwilda Ellis        

Arthur Engel     

Esther Flegal          

Ruth Forrester               

Chester Gallman           

Graydon Gannaway            

Flora Garner                    

Clayton Genung         

Marion Green     

Earl Haney      

Ressie L Harrill 

Benjamin Franklin Henderson    

Bernice Hester             

Raymond Heuser     

Anna Elizabeth Hill                                        

Clyde Hill                            

Harry K Hodge           

Hilda Hodges                

Dorothy Hood                

Martha Hoppe                   

James Huff                            

Harry Caldwell Johnson       

Milton Johnson            

Isabelle Jones  

Iva Jones               

Archibald Kennedy       

Marvin Killian   

Frances King   

Bela Klein                 

Abraham Koblentz       

Hilton Kroeger          

Margaret Lamon        

Katheryn Land           

Maynard Leavitt             

Fairy Lou Lee     

George Leinbach        Salutatorian

Mildred MacKenney       

Hobart Vincent Massey             

Walter Massey  

Robert Mayer      

William McAllister  

Mary McMinn                 

Edwin Meacham                

Edith Milburn                      

Reita Miller                                 

Maude M’Murray                

Bernard Mylius                               

Carl Neidhardt                         

Leonard Pickard           

Martha Lee Poe              

Errett A Post                      

Amy Routh Provence             

Marie Pursley                          

Eloise Ramsey             

Herman Ray                  

Winona Ringwald           

Frank Roark                 

Joe Roberts              

Myrtle Rogers             

Page Schlesinger          

Roy Self                      

Bertha Shugart            

Earl Smith         

Estelle Sorgenfrey        

Helen Margaret Stokes  

Lamar Swingley   

Ethel Thurman         

Earl Van Zandt                Valedictorian

Granville Watson               

Manly Arthur Watson         

Irene Weber                 

Addie Williams         

Belton Williams        

Leslie Wood           

Harry G Worsham         

Titles Earned by Mary Ruth Neyman

Competing in National Baton Twirling Association and Drum Majorettes of America events, Mary Ruth, 1957, won the following titles:

  • 1956 Tennessee State Champion Majorette
  • 1956 National Champion Strutter
  • 1957 Tennessee State Champion Twirler
  • 1959 Tennessee State Champion Twirler
  • 1959 Tennessee State Champion Majorette
  • 1959 International Champion Strutter

1962 Football History

Please click of the following link:  1962 Football History

Luther, Class of 1941, arrives to be a member of the unveiling team.

Miss Bobby Ruth Hodges, Class of 1941, and Mrs. Josephine Smith Bevelaqua, Class of 1933, are the other members of the unveiling team.

Alumni and friends gather for the ceremony.

Bryant Millsaps, Class of 1965, opens the ceremony.

Central JROTC Color Guard Presenting The Colors

Judi Downer Hoell, Class of 1965, leads singing of the National Anthem.

Principal Finley King , Class of 1983, speaks.

Jerry Summers, Class of 1959, speaks.

Cheerleaders leading us singing the Alma Mater.

Alumni and friends moving across soccer field for unveiling.


Luther unveils the marker.


Ron Tucker, Class of 1965, and the Unveiling Team.

Please click on the following link:  Dedication of Historical Marker

TV Spotlight on Luther

Please click on the link to watch it:

Our Man Luther